Printer Friendly Text Size

Debates Committee

The Debates Committee is deputised to administer the Debates Program under ratification of the Board, including the coordination of internal debating competitions, social functions for debaters and the publication of the Debates Handbook.

The Committee also supervises the USU’s involvement in the Australasian and World University championships, as well as other Intervarsity tournaments, including the selection of debaters and adjudicators.The Committee aims to train and involve USU Members in debating, public speaking seminars and adjudicating events.

The Debates Committee is chaired by a Board Director elected by the Board, with another Board Director elected as Deputy Chair. There are up to 11 ordinary members who are appointed by the Board in the year prior, with two New Committee members being appointed during April of each year.The Debates Committee also allows for additional Members to be appointed subject to attendance of three meetings within a year.


The Regulations of the Debates Committee are stipulated in 5.4 of the USU Regulations and Directors' Duty Statements, found here.
The Debates Committee is also bound by the Debates Regulations, found here.


 Earlier year available  from the Committee Secretary on request.

Useful Contacts

Chair – Rhys Pogonoski,
Committee Secretary – Jess Saunders,
Director of Debates – Solonge Handley,
Show advanced search
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30